Using my Richard Schmid Color Charts and my color/value chart for reference and clean color:

Richard Schmid color charts and value charts

I began this 12″ x 16″ painting in the living room of my dear friend, Jane.  The idea was inspired by Bonnard’s interiors.  Though I had wanted to complete the painting in one session, the shapes weren’t interlocking well and I wasn’t happy with the value pattern.  Jane moved to South Carolina before we were able to schedule another sitting.  I had taken a few photos for reference, but they were pretty useless.

At the end of the first sitting

I needed to connect the jar, lamp and the figure.  Jane is an avid collector of exotic fabrics.  I asked her to send me some swatches of her favorites so that I could invent a shape on the back of the couch for the eye to travel along.

The fabrics were a perfect inspiration to resolve the painting.  She included a paint chip of “Cobblestone Taupe” to let me know the color of the wall in her new home.  The painting was to become a union of her old abode and her new one.  I was able to match her paint chip perfectly with the help of the Richard Schmid Color Charts I made a year ago.  I mixed White, Ultramarine Blue, Burnt Sienna and a touch of Light Red.

My basic palette is currently Lemon Yellow, Cadmium Yellow, Cadmium Red Light, Alizarin Crimson, Raw Sienna, Burnt Sienna, Ultramarine Blue, Cerulean blue, Viridian and White.

Extended palette

I added a few extras to my palette to easily spot in the colors of the blue fabric swatch.  I added Cobalt Violet and Cobalt Turquoise.  Just for fun and clarity I also added Cadmium Orange.

Mlle. Jane a la Bonnard

Grayscale of painting

The reference photo did nothing but cause me problems.  Once I tossed it in the trash I was able to move forward basing my mixes of colors and values on the painting itself rather than the lifeless colors from the camera.

