My focus is on correct color/value and paying attention to the effects of playing warm colors against cool colors.  The painting still has a long way to go.

 

Villeneuve, France - Oil Painting in Progress

 

There is a bit of curvature happening in the camera when I photograph the painting in the study.

Staring at the greens in the trees all summer long has helped me with this painting.  I am finally achieving better cool greens as seen in the leaves of the climbing rose.  The cool green helps to create a sense of light shining on and through the leaves in the foreground.  The greens in the pots below are also a playful mix of cools and warms.  I am mixing no more than two colors at a time throughout the painting, even for my neutrals.

 

Villeneuve, France - detail

 

