Value studies with slight variations in color can be as satisfying as full color studies.

 

Pen & Ink Contour with Watercolor Wash

 

As I attempt to organize my workspace and get rid of things I no longer need or want, I am fascinated by the variety of containers I have acquired over the years that now hold paintbrushes.  I have tins, jars of all shapes and sizes, homemade pottery cups, bizarre china pitchers and funnel shaped measuring cups.

I continue to play with warm against cool, light against dark.  When time is short, there is nothing more satisfying for me than to make a quick contour drawing with one of my fountain pens and to drop in washes of watercolor using only two colors, usually ultramarine blue and venetian red.  I like the way they mix wet and wet on the paper.  The two pigments seem to bring out the best in one another.

If you want to see more of the paint brush container series visit my other blog: Third Time Around and click on the tag “paintbrushes”.

