The warm temperature of the day allowed for comfortable painting outdoors en plein air.  What a joy!

15 minute oil sketch "Winter Afternoon #1"

The sun was bright, creating wonderful shadow shapes of lavender on the peach colored snow until I had my easel set up and my paint on my palette.  The sun vanished behind a cloud and didn’t come out again until the third little painting was in process.  The changing light is always a challenge when painting outdoors.

15 minute oil sketch "Winter Afternoon #2"

My palette for all three oil sketches was: cadmium yellow, cadmium red light, alizarin crimson, cerulean blue, french ultramarine blue and viridian.  I used terra rosa for a thin underpainting wash on all three panels. I think I should have used it a bit in some of the other mixes for the color to integrate a bit better.

20 Minute oil sketch "Winter Afternoon #3"

When working so quickly I concentrate mostly on the local color value while working back and forth between warm and cool colors as they relate to one another as adjacent shapes.  Fifteen minutes is such a short time that I can’t get fussy about anything.

All three panels are 5″ x 5″ birch with three coats of gesso.

