Creating form and mood with a limited color palette:

Leto Finds Refuge, Watercolor 18" x 14"

Choosing one predominant color and limiting myself to only a warm and cool variation on that color still allows me full range of values and textural effects.  I have limited the range of temperature in Leto Finds Refuge intentionally to create a sense of alienation and escape.  The strength of a limited palette always surprises me.

I began this watercolor by mixing large quantities of pigment with water and throwing it onto cold press watercolor paper allowing some layering to mix wet in wet and allowing some to dry completely before the next toss of pigment.  As the layers began to suggest a figure and orbs I began to draw in their shapes with layers of watercolor brushed on rather than thrown on.

