Playing with analogous colors with one complement to suggest images:

Self Expression, watercolor and gouache

I equate this method of painting to lying on the warm ground and watching the clouds suggest objects or people floating in the sky above me.

Deciding on a limited palette color scheme to explore, I mix puddles of watercolor paint and toss, splatter and spill the different colors onto a sheet of watercolor paper allowing them to mix and/or dry before applying another layer.  I keep building the layers until something is suggested by the shapes and patterns of the color layers.  At that point I begin to define the image I am seeing in my head.  Often, I need to mix gouache with my watercolors to bring back light valued areas, creating edges to describe the object or figure.

The color scheme I played with in this painting is an analogous (purple, blue, green) with one complement (yellow).

