After final approval I will paint the design onto the yoke of the jacket.

Butterflies and Cone Flowers, needlepoint design

To view the original sketches and the first color comp of the needlepoint design click here.  I think the design and the colors will translate well for needlepoint.  There should be no problem obtaining the threads of various values for each of the colors.  Some areas are straight forward and others call on the creativity and experience of the man who will be doing the needlepoint on this project.  My hope is that he will find the design both challenging and enjoyable.

After deciding on the final pencil sketch of the design, I traced over the rendered sketch to create a simple outline drawing that I could photograph, transfer to my computer and print out full-scale onto a sheet of 140 pound watercolor paper.  I saved a great deal of time by using the camera and the computer system.  I then painted the final color comp on the arches watercolor paper.  I will use fabric paints to paint onto the needlepoint canvas of the jacket.

