The yoke of the jacket is now painted and ready for the application of needlepoint threads.  To view previous posts of earlier stages of this project click on the following links:

Design of Butterflies and Coneflowers for yoke of Blue Jean Jacket,
Preliminary color comp illuminates flaws in design
Final Color Comp for Needlepoint design

The following images illustrate the stages of transferring the design onto the jacket yoke.

Jacket pinned over full-size reproduction of final color comp

The original color comp is full-size.  Because it is too large for my scanner, I had to photograph it instead.  Though I thought I shot it straight on, there is a bit of parallax distortion.  I lined the bottom of the print with the jacket yoke.  The top will just be more sky color.

Beginning to paint on the mesh

Using textile paints I began painting directly onto the mesh using the reproduction beneath it as a guide.

The original watercolor comp as reference

Painting on the needlepoint canvas is challenging.  I used the original watercolor color comp as a guide.  I had to simplify the variations in value and hue when painting on the canvas.

Finished transfer onto yoke

The image above shows the yoke without the reproduction beneath it.  The final nuances of value and hue will be up to the creativity of the man who will be doing the needlepoint.  I will include a quality reproduction of the watercolor color comp for him to use as a reference guide.

This was a challenging and enjoyable project.  I welcome comments from those of you who needlepoint.  This was a bit of a shot in the dark for me since I do not needlepoint.

