Now that gallery deadlines have been met I can catch up on my Daily Paintworks Challenge submissions.

Challenge Number Nine 'Chicken'

I stayed with a simple palette of primary colors, predominantly blue and red.  I used yellow to tone down the red in the border so that the red on the head of the chicken would stand out as the strongest, purest color.  I also used yellow for variation in the chicken feathers.

Triads offer a simple way to explore color.  Using two of the three colors to dominant, while the third is used to tone and alter the other two, creates an illusion of full spectrum while maintaining my intended mood or illusion of atmosphere.

Notice how mixing yellow into the red in the border brings the yellow closer to orange (the complement of blue) and creates a greater sense of interaction and excitement between the blue and the border than on the other side of the chicken where the border is closer to red.

I drew the lines of the chicken in black ink using my Parker 51 fountain pen and followed with watercolor washes using a palette of peacock blue, cadmium yellow, cadmium red and alizarin crimson.

