An extended analogous color scheme is, basically, half the color wheel.  Traditionally it is one primary color plus the three adjacent colors on each side.  A limited analogous color scheme, depending on whose definition you are using, is either three to four adjacent hues or five adjacent hues.

Trumpet Daffodils and Totems

This painting falls into the limited analogous color scheme category using the definition of five adjacent hues: orange, yellow, yellow/green, green and blue.  The neutrals in the trumpet and the totems are within this range.  For those of you who want to be more exact, you might consider this an analogous with one complement color scheme since the neutralized shadow hue beneath the trumpet horn and the totems is in the family of purple, the complement of yellow.

I feel as if this little sketch could benefit from a bit of bright red somewhere.  The addition of a bright red would bring it into the category of an extended analogous color scheme.

What is important to me is not the category of color scheme that the painting can be placed in but the process of finding the strengths and weaknesses in a painting that are, perhaps, a result of the color scheme.  As I’ve mentioned before, I rarely begin a painting with a color scheme in mind.  I don’t like the restriction I feel when I do so.

Drawn first in ink with my Parker 51 fountain pen followed by watercolor washes.  The thin paper of my sketchbook often ripples when I apply watercolor washes.

