Subtle transitions of color can result in strong, evocative paintings.

Bill DeHart at the Blues Jam

I was experimenting with using red ink and blue ink in addition to my standard black ink.  The combination of the black and red blending to a sienna color suggested a lighter hand with the watercolor washes I apply after the initial line drawing in ink.  I think the blue and the yellow as similar values in the background next to Bill’s face work well.  The yellow remains high key value along the edge of his back while the blue darkens in value to contrast against his shoulder and create the illusion of space behind him.  Though there isn’t action portrayed, I find the portrait poetic and I like it.

Drawn first with black and red ink followed by washes of watercolor.

Painted during the Tuesday night Blues Jam at Larry Holmes Ringside Restaurant in Easton, PA.

