My gloom comes through my morning sketch, plagued by distraction and inattentiveness.

Jet Plane Game Markers from my childhood

Primary color scheme is usually quite bright and cheery.

Sometimes being distracted while drawing can lead to a breakthrough, a leap to a new, high plane of understanding and expressiveness.  Other times, such as this, it leads only to a dismal drawing that falls far short of its mark.

The last few lines of a poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow come to mind:

“Be still, sad heart! and cease repining;
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all,
Into each life some rain must fall,
Some days must be dark and dreary.”

Today will be better, even if the sun doesn’t shine.  It’s up to me to make it that way.  I’ll try the little game pieces again tomorrow morning.

Drawn first in ink, followed by Marvy Markers and ending with a bit of watercolor and gouache in an attempt to recovery some energy.

