Knowing how ink reacts to the application of water or watercolor pigment helps me to understand the limits and potential of my tools of expression.

Ink Test Number 4

I gathered all of my inks and tested them to see which I could depend on not to bleed when I applied water or watercolor washes.  Each ink is tested as follows:

1. line stroke with dip pen

2. line stroke with dip pen followed immediately by a stroke of clean water applied with a brush

3. line strokes with dip pen allowed to dry overnight.  Watercolor washes applied the next morning to see the degree of  ink bleed.

4. Brush stroke of undiluted ink

5. line strokes with dip pen allowed to dry overnight.  Ciao copic marker applied the next morning to see the degree of ink bleed.

Ink Test Number 5

Ink Test Number 2

Ink Test Numbe 3

Ink Test Number 1

I have never been a fan of blue ink.  However, I recently signed up to receive samples of Noodler’s ink monthly from The Goulet Pen Company.  Yesterday I received samples of four blue inks.  I decided to fill one of my clear demonstrator Noodler Flex Fountain Pens with the Midnight Bleu (fast dry) to take with me on my Thursday “Walk with my Dad”.  I brought along Ciao Copic Marker to overlay values without too much bleed.  I was pleased with the results.  View the Feltville drawings on my Third Time Around blog.

