I was happier with this drawing when it was simply a contour hatched ink drawing, but I couldn’t resist the urge to meet the challenge of red roses against a dark green background of wild bushes against the fence.

Roses Outside the Bedroom Window

I thought that by darkening the background the roses would be more visible.  Leaving the highlights on the roses as light as the sunlit leaves only left confusing little shapes that kept the leaves from their own movement within the drawing.  I was already a bit too dark with my values of the rose petals and background.  With nothing to lose, I darkened the highlights of the rose petals so that they didn’t appear as pasted on little shapes.  I think it works better.  As always, red and green are a challenge.  Their local value is just too close for comfort.

Drawn first with Flex roller pen filled with Noodler’s Heart of Darkness Ink.  Followed by washes of watercolor

