There is something about this rainbow effect, including the complementary color accent in the upper left corner (Todd’s shirt against the yellow background) that intrigues me.

Todd Wolfe and Four-legged Rob Fraser

When I purposely use gradations moving from one end of the spectrum to the other, I have failed.  This sketch done last night at the Blues Jam surprised me.  The color choices were totally right-brained.  I wasn’t aware that I had painted a rainbow until I looked at it later.  It was the first painting of the evening after a week of mental and emotional challenges.  The fact that I had given Rob four legs (the fourth was Maria’s suggestion) left me free to be ridiculous.  Ahhhh…. I should be ridiculous more often.

Watercolor Sketch: Drawn first with black ink using a dip pen, followed by watercolor.  Painted during the Tuesday Night, Todd Wolfe Blues Jam at the Larry Holmes Ringside Restaurant in Easton, PA.

