I spent the entire day on the porch painting, using the color charts I made the day before. (See previous post)

Landscape, acrylic painting

The first few of the eight paintings were closer to the real color of the landscape.  As I became more comfortable with the acrylics, I relied more on the value range in front of me and the color charts to mix colors I find more poetic than the colors of the landscape on a mid-summer day.  I never mixed more than two colors, plus white.  Every few minutes I cleaned off the palette not only to keep my colors clean but also to keep the acrylic paint from hardening in the plexiglass.

To view all eight paintings visit my other blog: Third Time Around

Limited palette: Perylene Red, Indian Yellow Hue, Prussian Blue Hue, Permanent Sap Green, Raw Umber (used very infrequently), Titanium White.

