Application of using color wheel created in Lesson One, only the primary and secondary colors in full saturation.

Example of painting by value rather than hue

Using only the six primary and secondary pigments I used to create the color wheel in Lesson One, I painted the clear, glass bottle. I ignored the real colors completely and attempted to paint value shapes instead.  No white was mixed with pigments.  I used the pigments straight out of the tubes.

Yellow was my lightest light.  Orange was my is my transition toward mid-value shapes of green and red. Blue and Purple are my dark value shapes.

Painting:  oil on 5″ x 5″ gessoed birch panel.

Teacups, color and grayscale mode

Okay… so the colors set my nerves on edge.  The object is not to make paintings to hang on the wall.  The point of doing these exercises is to see color as value!

Painting: Teacups – oil on gessoed birch panel 5″ x 8″

Pottery Jar, color and grayscale

I enjoy playing with a variety of colors within the same value range rather than holding to one hue as a local color of an object as I did with the teacups.

Painting of Pottery Jar: oil paint on gessoed birch panel, 5″ x 5″

