Another example of mixing neutral colors using <a title="Directions and Sample Painting, Color Wheel Five for reference …

Breaking Through Morning Mist

The morning presented minimal contrast and coloring that reminded me more of the lifeless colors I’m trying to avoid mixing.  As the sun attempted to break through the layers of mist, diffused sunlight added a bit of warmth to the backyard, winter landscape.  I exaggerated the hues for my own pleasure.

I continue to refer back to Color Wheel Five to mix neutrals using only two pigments plus white, avoiding mud.  I use my nine-step grayscale to check my values.  For this morning’s painting, I wanted to use a limited value scale, avoiding sharp contrasts that would indicate stronger sunlight.

Painting Sketch:  Oil on gessoed birch wood panel 5″ x 8″

