Without viridian on my palette, my greens become instantly neutralized.  Perhaps I need to clean my palette wells.

Burning the candle at both ends

Or maybe it’s simply Holiday-Wind-Down lack of attention to keeping colors clean.  The Noodler’s Nikita Red ink is festive, perfect for this holiday season.  I like the softer edges it gives to the Nespera Plant, the drafting table and the shadows cast upon the tablecloth.  When the candle became lost as a shape against the leaves, I went back into the line work with another fountain pen filled with black ink. The fabulous patterns on the candlestick holder distracted me from making good decisions for a strong pattern based on value shapes of the entire composition.

Drawn first with fountain pen followed by washes of watercolor.

