I’ve been thinking a lot about reality being only a reference point for paintings.  Yesterday’s early morning landscape sketches challenged that thought.

Omitting the trees and fence

After my first thirty minute sketch (see yesterday’s post on Third Time Around) I moved on to my second with the intent of focusing on the shadows cast by a large walnut tree.  I was enjoying the variations of color I was getting with my limited palette of Scarlet Lake, Cadmium Yellow, Cobalt Blue, Sap Green and Titanium White.  It seemed a pity to interrupt the movement and flow of shapes by painting in the trees and fence.

Having had far too much fun, I promised myself I would behave myself and focus on a more realistic expression of the shadows on the lawn in my next quick sketch.

Shadows a la Dr. Seuss

So much for that plan….. I might try this on a larger canvas.

Oil sketches: 5″ x 5″ on prepared birch wood panels.

