Back to my trumpet part series of 100 drawings and paintings.  Only Eighty Four more to go.

Trumpet Parts, #16, ink & copic marker

Yesterday I saw Derick Melander’s The Painful Spectacle of Finding Oneself, three tall stacks of folded fabrics.  One of the stacks is a pile of various red and black fabrics.  I was reminded of how wonderfully reds and blacks play against each other. I decided to use two fountain pens this morning, one with black ink, one with a mixture of red and black inks.  I used my water brush to bleed the red/black ink into the forms of the trumpet parts.  Warm grays were added using Ciao Copic Markers.  The red is terribly subtle, yet it adds considerably to the otherwise monochromatic drawing.

The small inset drawing was completed prior to drawing the trumpet parts in the larger box.  Normally I complete the entire page of line drawing prior to adding values.  Altering my method every now and then contributes to new directions and possibilities.

