The Color Scheme Game is an excellent way to strengthen color awareness and inventiveness.  I will post the more extensive, yet flexible, rules in a day or two.  Rules, of course, are meant to be tested, altered and broken.  They are only guidelines and should be adapted to suit the needs of the player.

Town Branch Kentucky Bourbon - Monochromatic Color Scheme

I arbitrarily selected a color scheme and searched my house for something that fit into that scheme.  In this case I chose a monochromatic color scheme.  The bottle of bourbon Tom picked up for Nicole last week when he was on business in Kentucky met the criteria.  I chose to keep the ink within the color scheme, too.  I opted to use a dip pen with Pilot Iroshizuku Yu-Yake ink, a yellow-orange color.  I followed the ink sketch with watercolor, mixing variations of yellows and neutrals of yellows.  The palette was Cadmium Yellow Pale, Cadmium Red Light, Alizarin Crimson, Burnt Sienna, French Ultramarine Blue and a spot of Viridian.  I was careful to keep the hues within the “yellow” range.

