I threw the dice only for my color scheme this morning.  An eight came up …. Analogous with Split Complementary Colors.

Trumpet Parts with Lily

Having stayed up too late last night, I found it difficult to fight the gray morning by using bright colors.  I stayed with the theme of muted dreariness that poured through the window.  The Analogous Color Scheme consists of a dominant color, the two colors adjacent to that hue and the two colors on either side of the dominant color’s complement.  In this case, the dominant color is yellow.  On either side of the yellow are yellow / orange and yellow / green.  The complement of yellow is purple.  On either side of purple are red/ purple and blue / purple.

One of the great things about sketchbooks is that I can see problems and come up with partial solutions without the need to completely resolve the painting.  In reality, the light through the window was not strong enough to create a shadow of the lily.  I painted the shadow shape of the glass with too much contrast and sharp edges.  The shape didn’t work.  At the very end, I added the soft shadow shape of the lily to remind me of my thought process and the solution I might try if I were to paint this on watercolor paper.  I have no intention of doing that, but I love searching for solutions.

Trumpet Parts Series No 25 Sketchbook painting:  Drawn first with dip pen using Rohrer and Klinger Alt-Goldgrun ink.  Followed by watercolor, followed by dip pen in a mystery brown ink in my plastic Mont Blanc bottle.

To view other drawings / paintings from the Trumpet Parts Series, here is a link to the album on my Facebook Page, Chris Carter Artist.

