While exploring the woods with my father on Thursday, I put to use the re-discovery of beautiful grays and browns possible when mixing cadmium red light with different blues.

subtle grays of sunlit tree branches


The original intent was to find a blue that would produce a purple when mixed with cadmium red light. Only Ultramarine Blue came close to succeeding. I had forgotten what beautiful neutrals are possible using cadmium red light. I mixed a lovely brown with Cad Red and Ultramarine Blue for dried leaves fallen on the ground in another sketch I posted this morning on Third Time Around. I mixed a miniscule touch of cad red into cobalt for the subtle gray of the branch in the sketch above.

Sketchbook drawing: drawn first with fountain pen filled with black ink, followed by watercolor.

