The subject of the painting can be chosen either before or after the dice are thrown. Yesterday afternoon I chose the subject based on the dominant color chosen by the twelve-sided die.

Rooting Oxalis, red-purple and yellow-green

I threw a two (Complementary Color Scheme) and an eight (Dominant Color = purple / red).  The rooting Oxalis in the kitchen window fit the bill.  I enjoyed both drawing and painting the Oxalis enough to chose it again for my morning subject.  This time I threw the dice after having chosen the Oxalis.

Rooting Oxalis, Analogous Colors

This time I threw a five (Analogous Color Scheme) and a two (Dominant color = Yellow Green)

I find it best to not look at the subject after the drawing stage is complete.  I move to my drafting table to apply the paint.  By not looking at the subject of the drawing, I am able to make decisions based on the value shapes and graphics of the painting rather than the reality that might not really work in my sketch.  This is especially helpful when the color scheme does not fit with the actual colors of my subject.

Sketchbook Drawings playing the Color Scheme Game: drawn first with fountain pen filled with black ink, followed by watercolor.

Palettes:

Top painting:  Limited palette of Cadmium Red Light, Alizarin Crimson, Ultramarine Blue, Prussian Blue and Cadmium Yellow Light

Bottom painting: Cadmium Yellow Light, New Gamboge, Cadmium Orange, Ultramarine Blue, Antwerp Blue and a touch of dioxazine purple to neutralize the yellow for the mason jar’s wire.

