This morning’s throw of the die was a welcome relief from the Modified Triad of the last two days.

Trumpet Parts No. 48 ............ Double Complements

I threw a three (Double Complements) a one (yellow) and a two (yellow/green).  The third throw was to determine the second set of complements.  That gave me yellow, purple, yellow / green and red/purple.

I enjoyed playing with the push and pull of the warm and cool colors as well as slightly altering the value of each.  I turned my back on the actual trumpet parts so as not to be influenced by the real lighting situation.  I wanted to manipulate shapes and colors with only design in mind.

Sketchbook drawing: drawn first with fountain pen filled with mystery brown ink, followed by watercolor.

Limited Palette: Cadmium Lemon, New Gamboge, Phthalo Green, Cobalt Violet, Dioxazine Purple.

