I never mind when my friends sleep longer than I do.  It allows me extra time to draw in the morning while sipping a cup of coffee and gathering my thoughts for the day.

Morning After the Birthday Party

For this little morning painting I did not play The Color Scheme Game.  What I’m finding is that even when I don’t throw the die, I choose my colors more carefully than I did prior to my daily practice of playing the game.  My eyes are seeing color schemes in the landscape as well as everywhere else around me.  I find I am using color to direct and redirect attention in a way I have not done before, by choice rather than by luck.

The Narcissus was just starting to bloom.  I regret that I didn’t paint the Narcissus on my last day in Portland when it was in full bloom.

Morning After the Birthday Party, Portland, Maine – drawn first with fountain pen filled with black ink on d’Arches watercolor paper followed by watercolor.

