It is predicted that it will reach 80 degrees today.  That breaks all records for the month of March.  Right now, fog surrounds my house.

The morning fog as it drenched the hedgerow, trees covered in early spring buds, gave me one more opportunity to attempt painting the lace-like patterns of the pin oak branches just outside my back door.  Winter is over and I’ve not figured out how to depict those slender, leafless branches at the outer edges of the tree.  Using my dip pen to add ink to the branches that I originally painted over the foggy hedgerow in a darker value watercolor gave me the look I wanted.  I wanted a strong contrast between the branches close to the house and the hedgerow in the distance.  I hadn’t painted the edges dark enough or hard enough with my rigger brush.  The dip pen was a perfect solution, allowing the watercolor to show through the thicker branches.

Sketchbook painting: Sketched lightly in pencil, painted in watercolor, followed by dip pen using Noodler’s Nightshade Ink.

