Playing the Color Scheme Game can be used as merely a starting point. If the painting is telling you to change the plan, by all means, change the plan!

Trumpet Parts No. 62 with Daffodils and Oxalis Plants

After completing the drawing in ink I threw the die.  The die indicated a Modified Triad Color Scheme with Orange as one of the dominant colors.  That gave me blue as a second and I chose yellow/green over purple/red as my third, preferring my daffodils to be yellowish rather than purplish.  I didn’t like the way the blue worked for the oxalis plant and I didn’t think it would work for both the napkin under the trumpet and the trumpet.  I felt that the shapes might become confused and the trumpet would not stand out against the napkin.  For that reason, I moved away from my Modified Triad Color Scheme and introduced the neutralized red in the trumpet, a few oxalis leaves and the vertical  shape on the right.  The result was somewhat satisfactory, but more muted than I would have liked.  In order to support that muted effect I needed to added stronger color saturation and slightly darker color value to contrast the muted color.  I chose the bright red.  The effect worked.  The colors now look beautifully muted instead of too diluted.

I will continually point out that the purpose of the playing the game is to expand your horizons, not to simply follow rules.  Break the rules on a daily basis!  In playing the game, you will learn the rules and realize you are making the choice to stick to the color scheme or to step off the path.  Stepping off the path is the ultimate goal.

Sketchbook painting: Trumpet Parts No. 62 with Daffodils and Rooting Oxalis Plants.  Drawn first with fountain pen filled with Noodler’s Green Marine Ink, followed by watercolor.

