I’ve switched from pen to pencil for the initial sketch, nudged by the delicacy of spring blossoms.  As much as I love my fountain pens and dip pens, I often use them as a crutch.  I’ll just have to limp for a while.

Trumpet Parts No. 63, Watercolor

Playing the Color Scheme Game, I threw a seven for the color scheme ( analogous with one complement ) and another seven for the dominant color (purple or violet).  Perfect!  I used red/violet,  violet, blue/violet and yellow.  I shifted the yellow closer to orange.  As I’ve mentioned before, I use the game as a starting point.  I like to think of the rules as a framework to build from, not a prison.  I could call the rules guidelines instead, but then I probably wouldn’t pay any attention to them at all.

Sketchbook painting:  drawn first with pencil, followed by watercolor.

