I continue to forget my intention to draw the trumpet parts as I do dancers and musicians using full arm movements with a gentle hold on my pen.  The stillness of a Still Life automatically shuts off the dancer in me.  When the dancer shuts down, so does the musician and the poet.

Trumpet Parts No. 68, Ink and Watercolor

Landscape, unless the weather conditions are causing the trees to bend and the grasses to sway, causes the same paralysis.  I search for shapes that suggest movement such as freshly disced rolling hills or undulating hedgerows.  I don’t always find those shapes or conditions.  Therefore, I must inject the scene with movement.  Trumpet Parts No. 68 is an attempt to inject a Still Life with a sense of movement and rhythmic pattern.  I find it challenging to draw unmoving objects loosely without drawing them carelessly.  In this sketch I stopped and started many times, being careful as to the placement of each section of trumpet part as well as the shapes and placement of the shadows. The drawing was done in many three-second intervals with about fifteen seconds between each. the watercolor strokes were added in the same manner.  I plan to try the same technique this afternoon painting landscape en plein air.

Sketchbook drawing: Drawn first with fountain pen filled with mystery brown ink, followed by strokes of watercolor.

The color directive for the color scheme: Analogous with split complements (Yellow/Green, Green, Blue/Green, plus Red/Orange and Red Violet).  Obviously, I took liberties with my color scheme.

