Along the hedgerow bordering the vineyard, a hunter’s tree stand is silhouetted against the bright sky.

Tree Stand, watercolor on hot press paper

Staying loose, I sketched the shapes in with a fountain pen filled with mystery brown ink.  I applied splotches of watercolor using fairly wet dilutions allowing the ink to mix with the color.  For my color scheme I used analogous with split complements as a starting point (yellow/orange, yellow, yellow/green, green plus red/violet and blue/violet.  I stayed away from red and blue.   Now that I’ve been out every day attempting to capture spring colors in the landscapes, I find I like using purples with greens.   Hot press paper keeps me from being fussy.  The color stays where it lands and I like that about it.

Old York Cellars vineyard, Ringoes, New Jersey.

