This is not the direction I thought I would be heading in when I returned to full-time painting.

Trumpet Parts No. 79, pencil and watercolor 7" x 11"

I’m exploring the basic structure of things the same way I explore the skeleton in order to express the movement of a figure with one flowing line.  The basic structure of most things is geometric.  A byproduct of perspective drawing is intersecting planes that are not necessarily attached to the object being drawn.  The shapes that appear to float in the air surrounding the object create the illusion of space and movement that I strive for.  Hours vanish like cotton candy on my tongue when I’m working on these drawings.

By incorporating both neutral, less saturated colors with primary, full saturated colors, the push and pull effect between the shapes is enhanced. The more saturated colors appear to advance and the less saturated colors retreat.

Sketchbook drawing: Trumpet Parts No. 79, drawn first with pencil and ruler (Yikes! I’m using a ruler again…) followed by watercolor.

Color Scheme:  Everything except Blue/Green, Green, Green/Yellow

