Using a pair of near complements works well for a quick sketchbook drawing.

View of Blast Furnaces through the windows.

The blast furnaces as seen through the windows of the SteelStacks cabaret are far more impressive than I’ve shown in this sketch.  One of these days I’ll focus my attention just on these metal giants that look like an ocean liner docked on the outskirts of Bethlehem, PA.

I started with a simple line drawing using a dip pen in Noodler’s Black Swan in English Roses ink.  I added a wash of slightly toned down cadmium orange on the blast furnaces, allowing the ink to bleed into the wash.  The final touch was a pale wash of dioxazine Purple, again allowing the ink to bleed.

Because the ink has such a red tone to it, the resulting colors appear to be more an extended analogous color scheme than near complements.  The only watercolor hues I used were Cadmium Orange and Dioxazine Purple.  The purple was my cool color that was warmed by the ink bleed.

 

