The ink bleed is beginning to be a nuisance.

Trumpet Parts No. 90 and Rosemary Plant

I would have like this better if I hadn’t added the red/orange background.  The fine lines of the rosemary plant leaves bled into the watercolor, filling in the small negative shapes between the leaves.  The contrast was lost because the blue/green of the leaves is too close to the background value.  I went back with my fountain pen to redefine the blurred edges of the leaves.  The paper absorbed more ink and the delicate lines became clunky.

My color scheme is analogous with one complement, Red/Orange being the dominant color and blue/green being the complement accent.  I should have abandoned The Color Scheme Game directive and left the background white.  My curiosity got the better of me and I painted the background.

Sketchbook drawing: drawn first with fountain pen, followed by watercolor, followed by fountain pen.

