Instinctively, I avoided using both red and blue in today’s morning sketch of my mother’s tin of wooden thread spools.  This proves to be an excellent example of the Foolproof Color Scheme I was introduced to in Jane R. Hofstetter’s book 7 Keys to Great Paintings.  This remains one of my favorite books to keep me on a path towards better paintings.

Family Treasures No. 16

The inspiration is my mother’s green tin filled with wooden spools of thread.  I found it when clearing out my father’s house last October.  For as long as I can remember, thread was kept in this tin, in spite of several other sewing baskets my mother acquired over the years.  I recall that it was “much handier than a sewing basket” for keeping track of her collection of thread for mending.  The bright stripes are a variation on the bright colored placemats I bought in Avignon several years ago.

I think this is the first time I have drawn objects in one cell overlaying another cell.  I often allow objects to work their way across the edge of the cell into the non-cell background.  After a recent dialogue with DB regarding the disparity of scale on road maps when details of cities are shown, I decided to see how she feels about the presence of two different scales appearing in the space of one cell.  Maybe I’ll play with overlaps in a Venn Diagram mode. Hmmmmmm.

detail of ink and watercolor painting. Family Treasures No. 16 Green Tin of wooden spools of sewing threads

Painting: drawn first with fountain pen filled with Noodler’s Black Ink, followed by watercolor.  Arches Watercolor Paper

Color Scheme:  Foolproof…. Five analogous colors, skip one on each end and include the last three analogous colors on a twelve hue color wheel.

