For those of you who have been following my blog, you know by now that I get distracted easily.  Every time I clear space in my head, a new idea for a series of paintings fills the gap.

Early morning light… 6:30 am and 7:30 am

In addition to experimenting with the new, Seasonal Variation of The Color Scheme Game, I am exploring the colors of the landscape through the day.  I attempt to match the colors as closely as I can with little, if any, concern for describing the landscape itself.  I make note of the date, time, weather conditions and the colors I mix.  the BFK Rives printmaking paper that I have been using in my handmade sketchbooks may not be the best paper for this purpose.  I find I am using more water, diluting the pigment more than I usually do when playing the game.

Journal of Landscape Light: painted with watercolors on BFK paper, early morning on September 26, 2012

