As much as I love my fountain pens, I am enjoying this new direction of journaling the light and weather throughout the day.  It allows me the freedom to let colors mix and merge across the paper, producing somewhat unpredictable and often lovely results.

3:45 pm on September 28, 2012

It’s no surprise that watercolor paper is working better for me than the BFK Rives printmaking paper working wet into wet.

I am perceiving the nuances of color changes as clouds cross the sky, filtering and altering the sun’s rays, more each day.  I wonder if this is the result of the color studies I’ve been doing, having opened a door to another level of vision.  I like this new world that has opened up to me.  Landscapes have transformed into a theatrical stage with the sun and the sky acting as the Lighting Engineers.  I’m learning their trade so that I can manipulate the illusions I create on canvas and paper.

