When Tom was wearing orange suits with these outrageous bow ties, I was wearing skirts made from my blue jeans.  No wonder we didn’t get together back then!  I don’t know what the transition was from attending Woodstock to wearing suits and polka dot bow ties.  It will, forever, be a mystery.

Tom’s 1970’s Bow Ties

I was hoping there would be a bit more of a separation between the blue-green bow tie in the upper left and the shadows which I made the exact same color and value.  Control usually produces more accurate results than hope.  I’ll blame it on eating too much turkey and sweet potatoes.  I’m sure it wasn’t the wine.  I love the shapes regardless of whether they make sense in the real world.
Sketchbook Thanksgiving Day Drawing: Tom’s Outrageous Bow Ties, Family Treasures No. 45.  Drawn first with a 1950’s Sheaffer white dot snorkel pen filled with Noodler’s Heart of Darkness Ink, followed by watercolor.

Color Scheme: Basic Triad.  Limited palette of Red-Violet, Yellow-Orange and Green Blue.

